Colleagues in the Manchester Urban Institute have seen their standing in the various disciplinary fields that go into the making-up of urban studies rewarded in a range of ways. This include fellowships, journal editorships, learned society prizes, and positions on government and industry committees.

Current indicators of esteem include: 

  • Stefan Bouzarovski is the Chair of the European Energy Poverty Observatory
  • Stefan Bouzarvoski is a Visiting Professor, Department of Geography, University of Bergen
  • Stefan Bouzarvoski is a Trustee, Eaga Charitable Trust
  • James Evans is a Visiting Researcher, IIIEE, Lund University, Sweden
  • Deljana Iossifova is an appointed member of the Urban Studies Foundation ‘Trustee’ Board
  • Yaron Matras holds a BA Wolfson Research Professorship
  • Cristina Temenos is Editorial Board Member: Environment and Planning C: Politics and Space
  • Cristina Temenos is Editorial Board Member: Geography Compass – Urban
  • Cristina Temenos is holder of a current Urban Studies Foundation Postdoctoral Research Fellowship
  • Harriet Thomson is the winner of ESRC Outstanding Early Career Impact award 2017
  • Kevin Ward is an Editor of Urban Geography
  • Kevin Ward is a Visiting Professor at the City Institute, York University, Toronto, Canada
  • Kevin Ward is an Adjunct Professor, Department of Geography, Simon Fraser University, Vancouver
  • Saskia Warren  holds an AHRC Leadership Fellowship
  • Cecilia Wong is an Editor of Town Planning Review
  • Cecilia Wong is an Fellow of the Royal Town Planning Institute
  • Cecilia Wong is listed in Planner's Women of Influence in Planning
  • Cecilia Wong is Chair of Regional Studies Association North West Branch
  • Cecilia Wong is a Member of Economic and Social Research Council Grant Assessment Panel 
  • Albena Yaneva is a Visiting Professor at Princeton School of Architecture
  • Albena Yaneva is a Visiting Professor at Politechnico di Torino, Italy

Past indicators of esteem include: 

  • Nicola Banks. ESRC Future Leaders award
  • Stefan Bouzarovski, Visiting Professor, Institute of Geography, University of Gdansk
  • Jonathan Darling, ESRC Future Leaders award
  • Maria Kaika, Editor of the International Journal of Urban and Regional Research
  • Erik Swyngedouw, British Academy/Leverhulme Trust Senior Research Fellowship
  • Erik Swyngedouw, The University of Manchester's Researchers of the Year 
  • Albena Yaneva, Lise Meitner Visiting Chair at the University of Lund